Fortified Manor


Fortified Manor / 居館

This is a subtype of Castle Type

Fortified Manors (居館, kyokan) are the fortified residences of powerful local leaders and samurai. They are typically simple rectangular fortifications with a moat and earthen embankment, or sometimes stone walls. In Japanese they are often called Yashiki or Yakata. Many of these Fortified Manors are from the Heian and Kamakura Periods, before castles enlarged and developed to include quarters for samurai and other powerful local lords. In the Sengoku Period you often see the pair of a fortified manor at the foot of the mountain for everyday use and a mountaintop castle for use in times of unrest. Kazurayama Castle is one such good example and so is the Sanada Palace / Sanadahonjo Castle pair.

Some might ask if such Fortified Manors are really castles. The definition of "castle" in Japanese is actually vague. It is simply a fortification to help protect from one's enemies. This includes everything from the earliest fortified villages (Yoshinogari) to primarily political centers (Taga Castle) to smoke signal towers (noroshidai) or even fortified towns like Kamakura which itself was called Kamakura Castle at one point. The military purpose and defensive fortifications are what separates these from ordinary homes. This distinction is also separates them from Samurai Homes of the Edo Period, which were strictly controlled by local lords and did not have castle-like defenses such as embankments or trenches.

There is a frequently used Japanese castle term 城館 (jokan), which includes the characters for both castle (城) and fortified manors (館) that clearly covers both. There are also a few yakata in the Top 100 Castles and Next 100 Castles.

Castles with Fortified Manor
  1. Akazawa Yakata
  2. Ashikagashi Yakata
  3. Azumi Mondo Castle
  4. Baba Yashiki
  5. Chikuma Awaji Castle
  6. Chimura Yashiki
  7. Choujayashiki Yakata
  8. Choushouin Yakata
  9. Dainenji Yakata
  10. Ema Yakata
  11. Fukakusa Yakata
  12. Fukuouji Yakata
  13. Furumaya Yakata
  14. Habauehori Yashiki
  15. Hanazawa Yakata
  16. Hatakenaka Yakata
  17. Hikobe Yashiki
  18. Hirase Yakata
  19. Hitachi Takekuma Castle
  20. Hojo Clan Residence
  21. Horigane Yakata
  22. Hosogaya Yakata
  23. Hotaka Yakata
  24. Houzouji Yakata
  25. Igawa Castle
  26. Ikenoshiri Yakata
  27. Inukai Yakata
  28. Iwade Danjou Kyokan
  29. Iwaoka Yakata
  30. Kamaenohaka Yakata
  31. Kamaian Yakata
  32. Katsunumashi Yakata
  33. Kazama Yakata
  34. Kikkawa Motoharu Yakata
  35. Kiso Yoshinaka Yakata
  36. Kita Majino Castle
  37. Kitabatakeshi Yakata
  38. Kobinata Oh'yashiki
  39. Kouka Beffu Castle
  40. Kouka Ichibajin'yama Castle
  41. Koumyouji Yakata
  42. Kouzuke Ken Castle
  43. Kouzuke Niwaya Castle
  44. Kouzuke Ueno Castle
  45. Koya Yakata
  46. Kumagura Yakata
  47. Machita Yakata
  48. Mamabe Castle
  49. Maruyama Yakata
  50. Matsuda Yakata
  51. Matsudaira Yakata
  52. Mikawa Hime Castle
  53. Minamoto no Tsunemoto Yakata
  54. Minochi Komazawa Castle
  55. Minochi Oshigane Castle
  56. Minochi Owaribe Castle
  57. Minochi Wada Castle
  58. Motohori Yakata
  59. Motoyama Yakata
  60. Myoukian Yakata
  61. Nagato Dohiyama Castle
  62. Nagisa Castle
  63. Nakagoshoshugo Yakata
  64. Nakahara Yakata
  65. Nakamura Yakata
  66. Nariai Yakata
  67. Nishina Castle
  68. Noguchi Yakata
  69. Ogawamatobaoka Castle
  70. Oh'uchi Yakata
  71. Ohtsuma Yakata
  72. Omi Yakata
  73. Ota Yakata
  74. Oumi Hatada Castle
  75. Oumi Hirai Castle
  76. Oumi Kashiwabara Castle
  77. Oumi Kitabodaiji Castle
  78. Oumi Shimozato Castle
  79. Oumi Touendou Castle
  80. Oumi Yamori Castle
  81. Owari Haguro Castle
  82. Sanada Palace
  83. Sarashina Fuse Castle
  84. Seiryuuji Yakata
  85. Shibutami Yakata
  86. Shimosaka Yakata
  87. Shimoyama Yakata
  88. Shirogane Yakata
  89. Suginome Castle
  90. Tada Kasuke Yashiki
  91. Tagayashi Yakata
  92. Takanashi Yakata
  93. Takano Yakata
  94. Takasaka Yakata
  95. Takisawa Yakata
  96. Tanba Katakari Castle
  97. Tanba Kokuryou Castle
  98. Tanba Nomura Castle
  99. Tanba Tonbori Castle
  100. Tanba Yaga Castle
  101. Toba Yakata
  102. Todoroki Yakata
  103. Todoroki Yashiki
  104. Tokoji Castle
  105. Tono Yakata
  106. Tonomura Yakata
  107. Tsukiyama Yakata
  108. Uchigoya Yakata
  109. Uede Yashiki
  110. Yabarahigashimura Yashiki
  111. Yamabe Yakata
  112. Yamada Shigetada Yakata
  113. Yamaga Yakata
  114. Yamaguchi Yashiki
  115. Yamashiro Imamura Castle
  116. Yoda Yakata
  117. Yoshinohori Yashiki
  118. Yoshinomachi Yakata
Loading map...